
Options for managing users in Genovo
Nigel Ogram
Genovo main dashboard > Account admin > Manage users – when was the last time you visited this in your Genovo account?
For larger firms, it’s not uncommon to have to add new users, edit existing users, or remove users that have left the company. However, for smaller Genovo accounts, the Manage users page is often a bit “fit and forget”.
However – are you missing a trick? Manage users is so much more than simply adding or removing users. When used properly, it can increase efficiencies, improve compliance, enhance collaboration and even assist multi-location working. This month’s blog explores the potential benefits of actively managing the users of your Genovo account.
Who can manage the users within their Genovo account?
Only users of certain roles (see below) have the ability to manage the users of the Genovo account. By default, only account owners (Writer Owner or Reader Owner) have access to Manage Users. However, the permission can also be granted to Writer Admins by selecting the Manage users? checkbox in their profile:

What can you do within Manage users?

- 1. Account summary tells you what Genovo plan type you have, together with information on how many Writer users and Reader user licences you have, and whether you have any spares available. If you’ve used up all your available licences, you can purchase single or multiple additional Writer or Reader user licences by contacting us, or you can upgrade your plan.
- 2. The Add user button does exactly what it says – it allows you to add a new Writer user or Reader user (assuming you have any available licences – see above). If this button is disabled, then you’ve probably reached the user limit for your plan.
- 3. This panel shows all your account’s Writer users – i.e. those users that can log into Genovo and create and / or edit a report for themselves or others. The table can be filtered or sorted, using the controls at the top of each column.
- 4. User role – within Writer users and Reader users, there are roles – Owner, Admin and User. This Knowledge Base article explains everything.
- 5. This column shows the status of each user’s two-factor authentication (2FA) on their Genovo account. We strongly recommend that all users have 2FA enabled. This Knowledge Base article explains how to set it up.
- Note that Account owners and Account admins can mandate 2FA for all users of the account.
- 6. Approval status shows whether the user is approved to log into Genovo. You can change a user’s approval status by editing the user (see 10, below)
- 7. This column shows whether the user has View all users’ clients / reports enabled. If you have users that write reports for several others (typically a paraplanner writing reports on behalf of multiple advisers), then View all users’ clients / reports allows them to do this. This Knowledge Base article explains everything you need to know.
- 8. Workgroup functionality works hand-in-hand with View all users’ clients / reports (see above). It’s a method of putting users in a ‘silo’ so that they (and their clients / reports) can only be seen by a sub-set of the account’s users. It’s a great feature for firms with multiple departments or branches. Everything you need to know is covered in this Knowledge Base article.
- 9. Integrations delivers huge time savings when adding clients and / or plans to a Genovo report. This column shows which integrations have been set up for each user.
- 10. Account owners and Account admins can edit other users by clicking the pencil icon. There’s lots you can do within Edit user, such as:
- a. Change their details (name, title, email address)
- b. Change their role and /or their user type
- c. Set ‘View all users clients / reports’
- d. Set and manage Workgroups
- e. Set their status to approved / not approved
- f. Enable or disable their 2FA status
- g. Send a password reset email
- h. Upload a headshot and / or a signature
- 11. Account owners and Account admins can delete other users by clicking the trash can icon. Note a delete is permanent and cannot be undone
- 12. The Reader user pane – this works in the same way as the Writer user pane. The table can be filtered or sorted, using the controls at the top of each column.
![]() |
This icon means the user has 2FA enabled and is using an authenticator app |
![]() |
This icon means the user has 2FA enabled and is using email verification |
![]() |
This icon means the user hasn’t set up their 2FA yet |
![]() |
This icon means the user does not have 2FA enabled |
Nigel’s knowledge
There’s additional account-level ‘settings’ functionality in Genovo that applies to users, but these are set in Account settings (accessed from the Account Admin dashboard). Settings here affect all users of the Genovo account, such as:
- Mandate 2-factor authentication (2FA) for all users of the account
- Control how many decimal places percentage values show to in your app and reports
- Include or exclude trailing zeros for percentage values
- Retain or remove empty columns in the Plan Charges tables included in the review & recommendation sections of your reports
- Move all plan charges from all report sections into a consolidated plan charges section
- Exclude plan charges from ‘no change’ periodic review reports
- Activate Predictive Plan Charges
- Deactivate the import of a plan’s underlying investments when it is added / updated from a CRM
Further reading
You’ll find loads more really useful information in:
- Genovo’s series of User Tip blogs;
- the extensive Genovo Knowledge Base;
- the collection of really useful Genovo matrices;
- the ever popular Genovo video tutorials
Of course, if you’re still stuck, or just need a helping hand, you can always submit a support ticket and we’ll get straight back to you.
Finally – make sure you don’t miss any of our hints & tips – subscribe and get email alerts when we update our blog.





